PastorRodney’s Weblog

Preaching from the Pulpit of Ephraim Church of the Bible

Exodus 6:6-8; The ‘I Wills’ of YHWH

http://www.ephraimbible.org/Sermons/20100926_exodus06_6-8.mp3

9/26 Exodus 6:6-8 The ‘I Wills’ of YHWH

Introduction:

Moses and Aaron have gone to the Pharaoh with God’s demand to let his people go to serve him. The conflict between conflicting masters has begun. Although Moses and Aaron met a very favorable response from the people; they heard, they believed, and they worshiped God; they did not meet with such a favorable response from the Pharaoh. And when the situation heated up, the favor of the people turned to accusations and curses. When things got difficult, the people ran to their master Pharaoh for help. When the people turned on Moses, Moses turned to God. He asked some hard questions and made some heavy accusations. Moses accused God of doing evil to his people, implying that Moses had more compassion toward them than God did. He implied that God didn’t know what he was doing, asking why he had chosen the wrong man to be the hero of the story. And Moses claims to have done his part, although God has totally failed to come through at all. God’s response is merciful and patient, not answering each question one by one, but instead revealing himself to Moses, because Moses needed not answers but God. Now that God has re-oriented Moses’ focus, he again commissions Moses to speak to the people.

6:6 Say therefore to the people of Israel, ‘I am the LORD, and I will bring you out from under the burdens of the Egyptians, and I will deliver you from slavery to them, and I will redeem you with an outstretched arm and with great acts of judgment. 7 I will take you to be my people, and I will be your God, and you shall know that I am the LORD your God, who has brought you out from under the burdens of the Egyptians. 8 I will bring you into the land that I swore to give to Abraham, to Isaac, and to Jacob. I will give it to you for a possession. I am the LORD.”’

This declaration of God’s purpose is framed by the statement of his covenant name “I am the LORD”. This is essential to understand. Your problems loom large. But you need to know me. You need to know who I am. I AM! I am the self-existent one, the one who spoke everything that is into existence. I am the uncaused cause of all that is and all that happens. I am the only truly free and independent being. I am sovereign. I am supreme. Everything else is nothing compared to me. You need to know who I AM!

The Six I will statements of YHWH

YHWH makes six ‘I will’ statements. This is what God will do. Not what Moses or the people or the Pharaoh or the gods of Egypt will do, but what God alone will do. Each of these ‘I will’ statements of God are in the perfect tense, a tense that describes a completed action. Here they are used of future actions of God that are conceived so vividly and so realistically that they are regarded as having virtually taken place.

I will bring you out אצי yatsa’ yaw-tsaw’

I will deliver you לצנ natsal naw-tsal’

I will redeem you לאג ga’al gaw-al’

I will take you חקל laqach law-kakh’

(I will be your God …you shall know that I am YHWH)

I will bring you into אוב bow’ bo

I will give it to you ןתנ nathan naw-than’

Today we’ll look at each of these in turn.

1. I will bring 03318 אצי yatsa’ yaw-tsaw’ LXX: εξαξω from: 1806 εξαγω exago ex-ag’-o

6 …‘I am the LORD, and I will bring you out from under the burdens of the Egyptians,

Over 40 times in the Old Testament this form of this word is used to describe what the LORD did in the Exodus. Here in the beginning of Exodus it looks forward to what the LORD will do, and the rest of the Old Testament looks back on what God had done. Twice it is used of what God did with Abraham, bringing him out of Ur of the Chaldees (Gen.15:7; Nehemiah 9:7) It is a powerful word meaning ‘to cause to come out, to bring out, to lead out, or to deliver. It is often used of bringing captives out of prison. The LXX, the Greek translation of the Old Testament, translates this word as εξαγω which means ‘to lead out’. This word is found in the New Testament:

Mark 15:20 And when they had mocked him, they stripped him of the purple cloak and put his own clothes on him. And they led him out to crucify him.

Jesus said:

John 10:3 To him the gatekeeper opens. The sheep hear his voice, and he calls his own sheep by name and leads them out. 4 When he has brought out all his own, he goes before them, and the sheep follow him, for they know his voice.

2. I will deliver 05337 לצנ natsal naw-tsal’ LXX: ρυσομαι ; 4506 ρυομαι rhuomai rhoo’-om-ahee

6 …and I will deliver you from slavery to them,

Deliver. This is what Moses accused God of not doing at all in 5:23.

This is often found in the phrase ‘deliver out of the hands of your enemies’; it can also be translated ‘recover’ or ‘rescue’

Exodus 2:19 They said, “An Egyptian delivered us out of the hand of the shepherds and even drew water for us and watered the flock.”

Exodus 3:8 and I have come down to deliver them out of the hand of the Egyptians…

The way David uses the word gives us a great picture of what it means:

1 Samuel 17:34 But David said to Saul, “Your servant used to keep sheep for his father. And when there came a lion, or a bear, and took a lamb from the flock, 35 I went after him and struck him and delivered it out of his mouth. And if he arose against me, I caught him by his beard and struck him and killed him. …37 And David said, “The LORD who delivered me from the paw of the lion and from the paw of the bear will deliver me from the hand of this Philistine.” And Saul said to David, “Go, and the LORD be with you!”

In the Exodus event, Israel was delivered from their Egyptian oppressors. In later Jewish history, God’s people were delivered out of the hands of the Philistines, or Sennacherib king of Assyria, or their other enemies. In the Psalms, God delivers from the enemy, from dangers, trouble, and distress, from guilt, death and hell. In Proverbs wisdom and discretion will deliver you from the immoral woman, and we are admonished to deliver ourselves from the bondage of debt.

In the Lord’s prayer, Jesus teaches us to ask God to deliver us from temptation and evil:

Matthew 6:13 And lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from evil.

Paul cries out for deliverance from his struggle with his own flesh.

Romans 7:24 Wretched man that I am! Who will deliver me from this body of death?

‘The Deliverer’ is a name given to God in Isaiah 59:20-21, quoted by Paul in Romans 11:

Romans 11:26 And in this way all Israel will be saved, as it is written, “The Deliverer will come from Zion, he will banish ungodliness from Jacob”; 27 “and this will be my covenant with them when I take away their sins.”

Colossians 1:12 giving thanks to the Father, who has qualified you to share in the inheritance of the saints in light. 13 He has delivered us from the domain of darkness and transferred us to the kingdom of his beloved Son, 14 in whom we have redemption, the forgiveness of sins.

In the New Testament, the enemy we are delivered from is more inward and spiritual; our sinful flesh, temptation, the domain of darkness. We often picture the enemy as the guy with the pitchfork tormenting people in hell. This is not a biblical picture. Jesus warned:

Matthew 10:28 And do not fear those who kill the body but cannot kill the soul. Rather fear him who can destroy both soul and body in hell.

Jesus is warning us to fear God and God alone. It is God who says:

Deuteronomy 32:39 “ ‘See now that I, even I, am he, and there is no god beside me; I kill and I make alive; I wound and I heal; and there is none that can deliver out of my hand.

Who can deliver us if we fall into God’s hands? Our final and most fearful enemy is God himself. And he claims that no-one can deliver out of his hands. No one, that is, except himself.

1 Thessalonians 1:9 …and how you turned to God from idols to serve the living and true God, 10 and to wait for his Son from heaven, whom he raised from the dead, Jesus who delivers us from the wrath to come.

God himself so loved the world that he sent his own Son to deliver us from his righteous wrath against sinners.

1 Peter 2:24 He himself bore our sins in his body on the tree, that we might die to sin and live to righteousness. By his wounds you have been healed.

3. I will redeem 01350 לאג ga’al gaw-al’ LXX: λυτρωσομαι 3084 λυτροω lutroo loo-tro’-o

6 …and I will redeem you with an outstretched arm and with great acts of judgment.

God promises to redeem his people with all his might and with powerful acts of judgment. This word ‘redeem’ or ‘redeemer’; ‘Goel’ is the term for a kinsman, a close relative that defends the honor of the family. There were three main ways this was done. The redeemer, often translated ‘avenger of blood’ would vindicate a relative who was murdered.

Numbers 35:19 The avenger of blood shall himself put the murderer to death; when he meets him, he shall put him to death.

In Deuteronomy 25, a childless widow’s near relative had the responsibility of preserving the family name and marrying and caring for the widow. A refusal to care for family in this way was a sign of dishonor.

Leviticus 25 talks about someone who becomes so poor that they sell the family property or even hire themselves out to be someone’s slave in order to survive. His family has the right come to his rescue and buy him back.

Leviticus 25:47 “If a stranger or sojourner with you becomes rich, and your brother beside him becomes poor and sells himself to the stranger or sojourner with you or to a member of the stranger’s clan, 48 then after he is sold he may be redeemed. One of his brothers may redeem him, 49 or his uncle or his cousin may redeem him, or a close relative from his clan may redeem him. Or if he grows rich he may redeem himself.

This is the situation of Ruth. She and her mother-in-law were poor widows, and she was forced to rely on the welfare system of picking up the leftovers the local farmers left behind. Boaz, who was a kinsman redeemer, took her and married her and kept the family name alive, a name which came to include King David, and ultimately Jesus Christ.

Ruth 4:14 Then the women said to Naomi, “Blessed be the LORD, who has not left you this day without a redeemer, and may his name be renowned in Israel!

God claimed to have purchased Israel from Egypt, not by paying a price to the Egyptians, but by an exertion of his awesome power and defending the honor of his name.

Isaiah 43:1 But now thus says the LORD, he who created you, O Jacob, he who formed you, O Israel: “Fear not, for I have redeemed you; I have called you by name, you are mine.

Isaiah 52:3 For thus says the LORD: “You were sold for nothing, and you shall be redeemed without money.”

God is declaring that he has double right to ownership of Israel. He has the rights of Creator, and rights of Redeemer. He made them and he bought them. In Isaiah we see the intimacy of close family relationship that God is declaring to have with us.

Isaiah 54:5 For your Maker is your husband, the LORD of hosts is his name; and the Holy One of Israel is your Redeemer, the God of the whole earth he is called.

Jesus is that redeemer. He said:

Mark 10:45 For even the Son of Man came not to be served but to serve, and to give his life as a ransom for many.”

Titus 2:13 waiting for our blessed hope, the appearing of the glory of our great God and Savior Jesus Christ, 14 who gave himself for us to redeem us from all lawlessness and to purify for himself a people for his own possession who are zealous for good works.

1 Peter 1:18 knowing that you were ransomed from the futile ways inherited from your forefathers, not with perishable things such as silver or gold, 19 but with the precious blood of Christ, like that of a lamb without blemish or spot.

At the Exodus, God redeemed Israel with an outstretched arm and great acts of judgment. At the cross, Jesus redeemed us with his arms outstretched receiving in himself the greatest outpouring of God’s just judgment toward sinful man.

4. I will take you 03947 חקל laqach law-kakh’ LXX: λημψομαι

7 I will take you to be my people, and I will be your God, and you shall know that I am the LORD your God, who has brought you out from under the burdens of the Egyptians.

Deuteronomy 4:20 But the LORD has taken you and brought you out of the iron furnace, out of Egypt, to be a people of his own inheritance, as you are this day.

This taking is an intimate taking – a taking of deep covenant commitment. This word is used of a man taking a wife in marriage. I take you to be my wife, to love, honor, and cherish.

Deuteronomy 25:5 “If brothers dwell together, and one of them dies and has no son, the wife of the dead man shall not be married outside the family to a stranger. Her husband’s brother shall go in to her and take her as his wife and perform the duty of a husband’s brother to her.

God takes us into relationship with himself, that we would know him. This is what the Pharaoh denied when he said “who is the LORD, that I should obey his voice…? I do not know the LORD… (5:2).

God promises in chapter 7

Exodus 7:5 The Egyptians shall know that I am the LORD, when I stretch out my hand against Egypt and bring out the people of Israel from among them.”

Exodus 10:1 Then the LORD said to Moses, “Go in to Pharaoh, for I have hardened his heart and the heart of his servants, that I may show these signs of mine among them, 2 and that you may tell in the hearing of your son and of your grandson how I have dealt harshly with the Egyptians and what signs I have done among them, that you may know that I am the LORD.”

Exodus 14:4 And I will harden Pharaoh’s heart, and he will pursue them, and I will get glory over Pharaoh and all his host, and the Egyptians shall know that I am the LORD.” And they did so.

Exodus 14:17 And I will harden the hearts of the Egyptians so that they shall go in after them, and I will get glory over Pharaoh and all his host, his chariots, and his horsemen. 18 And the Egyptians shall know that I am the LORD, when I have gotten glory over Pharaoh, his chariots, and his horsemen.”

God’s purpose in the Exodus was to declare to the world, to the Egyptians and his own people that he alone is God. He would prove to the Egyptians that he alone is God by triumphing over them. But he would be God to his own people in an intimate personal way, yes by displaying his power and might over Egypt, but also by dwelling among them and being in relationship with them. That was the point of the tabernacle that will play a huge part in the book of Exodus; God pitched his tent among his people.

Exodus 29:45 I will dwell among the people of Israel and will be their God. 46 And they shall know that I am the LORD their God, who brought them out of the land of Egypt that I might dwell among them. I am the LORD their God.

Knowing God is part of the new covenant promise:

Jeremiah 24:7 And I will give them an heart to know me, that I am the LORD: and they shall be my people, and I will be their God: for they shall return unto me with their whole heart.

Ezekiel 37:23 … but I will save them out of all their dwellingplaces, wherein they have sinned, and will cleanse them: so shall they be my people, and I will be their God.

Hebrews 8:10 For this is the covenant that I will make with the house of Israel after those days, saith the Lord; I will put my laws into their mind, and write them in their hearts: and I will be to them a God, and they shall be to me a people:

5. I will bring you to the land 0935 אוב bow’ bo LXX: 1521 εισαξω

8 I will bring you into the land that I swore to give to Abraham, to Isaac, and to Jacob.

God had made promises and he will keep them. This bringing also has overtones of intimacy.

Numbers 14:8 If the LORD delights in us, he will bring us into this land and give it to us, a land that flows with milk and honey.

Song of Solomon 2:4 He brought me to the banqueting house, and his banner over me was love.

God had all along intended to bring more than just national Israel into relationship with him.

Isaiah 56:6 “And the foreigners who join themselves to the LORD, to minister to him, to love the name of the LORD, and to be his servants, everyone who keeps the Sabbath and does not profane it, and holds fast my covenant– 7 these I will bring to my holy mountain, and make them joyful in my house of prayer; their burnt offerings and their sacrifices will be accepted on my altar; for my house shall be called a house of prayer for all peoples.” 8 The Lord GOD, who gathers the outcasts of Israel, declares, “I will gather yet others to him besides those already gathered.”

This finds its fulfillment in the cross of Jesus. Jesus said:

John 12:32 And I, when I am lifted up from the earth, will draw all people to myself.”

Ephesians 2:13 But now in Christ Jesus you who once were far off have been brought near by the blood of Christ.

James 1:18 Of his own will he brought us forth by the word of truth, that we should be a kind of firstfruits of his creatures.

Jesus prayed:

John 17:24 Father, I desire that they also, whom you have given me, may be with me where I am, to see my glory that you have given me because you loved me before the foundation of the world.

6. I will give it to you 05414 ןתנ nathan naw-than’ LXX: δωσω

8 …I will give it to you for a possession. I am the LORD.”’

Our God is a giving God.

Romans 11:35 “Or who has given a gift to him that he might be repaid?” 36 For from him and through him and to him are all things. To him be glory forever. Amen.

John 4:10 Jesus answered her, “If you knew the gift of God, and who it is that is saying to you, ‘Give me a drink,’ you would have asked him, and he would have given you living water.”

Romans 3:24 and are justified by his grace as a gift, through the redemption that is in Christ Jesus,

Romans 4:4 Now to the one who works, his wages are not counted as a gift but as his due. 5 And to the one who does not work but trusts him who justifies the ungodly, his faith is counted as righteousness,

Romans 6:23 For the wages of sin is death, but the free gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord.

Ephesians 2:8 For by grace you have been saved through faith. And this is not your own doing; it is the gift of God, 9 not a result of works, so that no one may boast. 10 For we are his workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand, that we should walk in them.

6:6 Say therefore to the people of Israel, ‘I am the LORD, and I will bring you out from under the burdens of the Egyptians, and I will deliver you from slavery to them, and I will redeem you with an outstretched arm and with great acts of judgment. 7 I will take you to be my people, and I will be your God, and you shall know that I am the LORD your God, who has brought you out from under the burdens of the Egyptians. 8 I will bring you into the land that I swore to give to Abraham, to Isaac, and to Jacob. I will give it to you for a possession. I am the LORD.”’

September 26, 2010 - Posted by | Exodus, podcast | , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

